|
|||||
|
|
|||||||
ANTIVIRUS VENDORS TARGETED.Navigation: Main page Author: Naraine, Ryan Section: SOLUTIONS: SECURITY WATCHTHE LOOKOUT
Typosquatters are registering misspelled domains of antivirus vendors and making money by redirecting surfers with Google's AdSense pay-per-click program. The startling discovery was made by Finnish security vendor F-Secure Corp., a company that's being targeted in the elaborate scam. In a notice posted online, F-Secure's director of antivirus research, Mikko Hypponen, said unknown typosquatters operating out of Panama have registered more than 150 domain names with slight â€" almost unnoticeable â€" variations of the target URL. For example, instead of the legitimate wwwf-secure.com, the domains "www-f-secure.com" and "wwwf-secure .com" have been registered and set up to point to"nortpnantivirus.com" â€" a misspelling of Symantec Corp.'s Norton AntiVirus. The misspelled domains registered by the scammers include f-secue.com, mesagelabs.com, mcafeeantiviru.com, bitdefneder.com, pestpatorl.com, and centralcomand.com. ~~~~~~~~ By Ryan Naraine in the Fair Use guidelines of the 1976 U.S. Copyright Act. info [at] singlearticles.com Powered by CommonSense |
Auto GPS On The Cheap. Are Diamonds Still a Girl's Best Friend? Apple's Next iPod Push 'Vingles,' Video Bundles. (cover story) |
||||||